U5’s

Rugby > Minis > U5s

Worthing RFC Minis
Worthing Lions
U5’s (2021-22)

 

WELCOME

Welcome to the U5’s team at Worthing RFC, also known as The Worthing Lions!  The U5’s is for children in the Reception year at school (ages 4-5).

Whether your child has never played rugby before or has been in a toddler rugby play program such as Rugbytots since they were 2 years old, we welcome you to come along and give it a try.  We play outside nearly every Sunday morning from September to Apr and all you have to do is turn up!  Your first four sessions are free, so you can ensure your child enjoys rugby with us before becoming a member of the club.

Our structured ‘training’ sessions primarily focus on the children having fun!  For this age group, there are no matches, just friendly sessions each week where we introduce the game of rugby and relevant skills through a series of fun games such as stuck in the mud, tiger tails, eggs in the nest and of course the childrens’ favourite bulldog.  We teach skills of catching, passing, kicking and running with the ball all whilst being active enjoying the fresh air.  We also incorporate England Rugby’s core values of Teamwork, Respect, Enjoyment, Discipline and Sportsmanship.

All your child needs to join in is weather appropriate clothes (waterproofs in the rain and multiple layers, hats and gloves in the cold and wind) and a bottle of water.  Once they are attending regularly and we approach winter, a pair of rugby or football boots may be desired as well to provide more grip on the pitch.


COACHING TEAM & CONTACTS

Role Name (click for email)
U5’s Manager TBC – Contact Tina Waycott in the meantime or if you are interested in this role!
U5’s Head Coach TBC – Contact Tina Waycott in the meantime or if you are interested in this role!
U5’s Coach TBC – Contact Tina Waycott in the meantime or if you are interested in this role!
U5’s Coach TBC – Contact Tina Waycott in the meantime or if you are interested in this role!
  • We use a WhatsApp group for general communications and a Spond group to manage training sessions, events, attendance and polls.
  • When you first join a training session, please find the team manager who will give you a consent form to fill in and they will then add you to the WhatsApp and Spond groups.

TRAINING TIMES

  • Season 2021-2022 ran Sun 5th Sep 2021 – Sun 24th Apr 2022 inclusive
  • Season 2022-2023 will run Sun 4th Sep 2022 – Sun 30th Apr 2023 inclusive
  • U5s train every Sunday morning 09:00 – 10:00 unless otherwise notified
  • The U5s train on the top half of Pitch 3 A:
    Worthing Pitch Plan
  • Club-wide training information is available here

DATES

Day
Date
Month Year Event
Sun 04 Sep 2022 Registration Day – First Training of the Season
Sun 11 Sep 2022 Training
Sun 18 Sep 2022 Training
Sun 25 Sep 2022 Training
Sun 02 Oct 2022 Training
Sun 09 Oct 2022 Training
Sun 16 Oct 2022 Training
Sun 23 Oct 2022 Training
Sun 30 Oct 2022 Training – British Summer Time ends!
Sun 06 Nov 2022 Training
Sun 13 Nov 2022 Training
Sun 20 Nov 2022 Training
Sun 27 Nov 2022 Training
Sun 04 Dec 2022 Training
Sun 11 Dec 2022 Training
Sun 18 Dec 2022 Training
Sun 25 Dec 2022 No Training – Merry Christmas!
Sun 01 Jan 2023 No Training – Happy New Year!
Sun 08 Jan 2023 Training
Sun 15 Jan 2023 Training
Sun 22 Jan 2023 Training
Sun 29 Jan 2023 Training
Sun 05 Feb 2023 Training
Sun 12 Feb 2023 Training
Sun 19 Feb 2023 Training
Sun 26 Feb 2023 Training
Sun 05 Mar 2023 Training
Sun 12 Mar 2023 Training
Sun 19 Mar 2023 Training – Happy Mother’s Day!
Sun 26 Mar 2023 Training – British Summer Time begins!
Sun 02 Apr 2023 Training
Sun 09 Apr 2023 No Training – Happy Easter!
Sun 16 Apr 2023 Training
Sun 23 Apr 2023 Training
Sun 30 Apr 2023 Training – Last Training of the Season
TBC TBC May 2023 Minis Award Evening