U6’s

Rugby > Minis > U6s

Worthing RFC Minis
Worthing Raptors Logo
U6’s (2022-23)

 

WELCOME

Welcome to the U6’s team at Worthing RFC, also known as The Worthing Raptors!  The U6’s is for children in Year 1 at school (ages 5-6).

Whether your child has never played rugby before or has been in a toddler rugby play program such as Rugbytots since they were 2 years old, we welcome you to come along and give it a try.  We play outside nearly every Sunday morning from September to Apr and all you have to do is turn up!  Your first four sessions are free, so you can ensure your child enjoys rugby with us before becoming a member of the club.

Our structured ‘training’ sessions primarily focus on the children having fun!  This age group takes part in friendly sessions each week where we introduce the game of rugby and relevant skills through a series of fun games such as stuck in the mud, tiger tails, eggs in the nest and of course the childrens’ favourite bulldog, working up to play tag rugby.  There is also the opportunity to ‘play up’ with the U7s in a couple of festivals throughout the season where multiple clubs come together to play each other.  We teach skills of catching, passing, kicking and running with the ball all whilst being active enjoying the fresh air.  We also incorporate England Rugby’s core values of Teamwork, Respect, Enjoyment, Discipline and Sportsmanship.

All your child needs to join in is weather appropriate clothes (waterproofs in the rain and multiple layers, hats and gloves in the cold and wind) and a bottle of water.  Once they are attending regularly and we approach winter, a pair of rugby or football boots may be desired as well to provide more grip on the pitch.


COACHING TEAM & CONTACTS

Role Name (click for email) Photo
U6’s Manager Bartley Gilbert Bartley Gilbert
U6’s Head Coach Robin Marchant Robin Marchant
U6’s Coach Rob Smith Rob Smith
U6’s Coach Nick Grice Nick Grice
  • We use a WhatsApp group for general communications and a Spond group to manage training sessions, events, attendance and polls.
  • When you first join a training session, please find the team manager who will give you a consent form to fill in and they will then add you to the WhatsApp and Spond groups.

TRAINING TIMES

  • Season 2021-2022 ran Sun 5th Sep 2021 – Sun 24th Apr 2022 inclusive
  • Season 2022-2023 will run Sun 4th Sep 2022 – Sun 30th Apr 2023 inclusive
  • U6s train every Sunday morning 09:00 – 10:15 unless otherwise notified
  • The U6s train on the bottom half of Pitch 3 A:
    Worthing Pitch Plan
  • Club-wide training information is available here

DATES

Last Updated: 17th May 2022
N.B: Only events involving the U6’s are displayed below; events not involving the U6’s are not displayed; see the Minis page for the entire Minis schedule
Items highlighted amber are Tentative (20% agreed) or To Be Confirmed (80% agreed)
Day
Date
Event Location
Sun 04 Sep 2022 Registration Day – First Training of the Season Worthing
Sun 11 Sep 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 18 Sep 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 25 Sep 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 02 Oct 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 09 Oct 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 16 Oct 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 23 Oct 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 30 Oct 2022 Training Worthing
British Summer Time ends! British Summer Time ends!
Sun 06 Nov 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 13 Nov 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 20 Nov 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 27 Nov 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 04 Dec 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 11 Dec 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 18 Dec 2022 Training Worthing
Sun 25 Dec 2022 No Training – Merry Christmas! No Training – Merry Christmas!
Sun 01 Jan 2023 No Training – Happy New Year! No Training – Happy New Year!
Sun 08 Jan 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 15 Jan 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 22 Jan 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 29 Jan 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 05 Feb 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 12 Feb 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 19 Feb 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 26 Feb 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 05 Mar 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 12 Mar 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 19 Mar 2023 Development Festival U6’s/U7’s/U8’s/U9’s/U10’s/U11’s Worthing
Happy Mother’s Day! Happy Mother’s Day!
Sun 26 Mar 2023 Training Worthing
British Summer Time begins! British Summer Time begins!
Sun 02 Apr 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 09 Apr 2023 No Training – Happy Easter! No Training – Happy Easter!
Sun 16 Apr 2023 Training Worthing
Sun 23 Apr 2023 Experienced Festival U6’s/U7’s/U8’s/U9’s/U10’s/U11’s Worthing
Sun 30 Apr 2023 Training – Last Training of the Season Worthing
TBC TBC Minis Award Evening Worthing